Welcome to my first blog post. It’s been something I have wanted to do for a long time. It will definitely be a work in progress.

I am going to write about my four biggest interests – television, movies, sports and the media in general.

I can’t promise an entry every day, but I want to post regularly. And be warned, some of the posts might be about classic TV. But I promise not to geek it up too bad. : )

I look forward to your comments. Please keep them civil and refrain from expressing hope about the Chicago Cubs until there is actual hope.

Let’s get started.

Tonight, my two favorite television shows are on, “NCIS” and “NCIS: Los Angeles.” Ralph Waite (The Waltons) returns to “NCIS” as Special Agent Gibbs’ father. Waite has been on a couple of times. The most memorable was his first appearance during Season 6 in the episode “Heartland.” Gibbs and his team returned to his hometown to investigate a murder. There are poignant moments between Waite and Mark Harmon as they tried to repair their father-son relationship. And some really funny ones when DiNozzo, Ziva, David and Abby are shocked to find out that their boss has a father.

The show is in its 11th season and getting better with age. It hasn’t missed a step since Cote de Pablo left as Ziva. CBS announced yesterday a new cast member comes on board Nov. 19 and it should be interesting to see how the new character adds to the show. I will be reviewing her first episode.

“NCIS: Los Angeles” enters its fifth season and saves the City of Angels from bad people again tonight. I’ve enjoyed the show from its second season on. The full-time addition of Eric Christian Olsen as LAPD liaison Marty Deeks in the second season added needed humor and color to a show that seemed flat in its first year.

Until next time. . .