Tags

, , , , ,

Now that Classic TV Week is done here at As The D.J. Turns, I thought I would turn to a more current topic. But I love classic television and movies and will return to them when a topic hits me.
But today I have my baseball cap slightly ajar. I’ve got a 39-ounce can of energy drink open that says it has 25 times the sugar and caffeine than the other energy drinks on the market. Next to it, ready to go, is a 78-ounce can of energy drink that says it has 50 times the sugar and caffeine of the other leading energy drinks and if I choose others, I’m an expletive.
I’m ready to talk MTV. Now obviously MTV and its sister station MTV2 are not new entities. I was in college when MTV started up and made the music video a part of the entertainment landscape.
I don’t watch MTV all the time, but I pay attention to three shows. One I consider a lot of fun. The others I’m not so sure I should admit to watching.
“Jackass” – If it’s late at night and my brain says to me “You put one more thought in my head today and I’m suing” I check out the TV version or watch if one of the “Jackass” movies are playing. If it gets too gross, I turn the channel. I know I shouldn’t be watching guys doing stupid, dangerous and gross stunts. But I can’t help wanting to see if they can top themselves in the next segment of mayhem.
“Ridiculousness” – Rob Dyrdek is the host of this video clip show along with actor Sterling “Steelo” Brim and rapper Chanel West Coast. Its format is simple. They show video clips of people getting hurt while doing stupid and dangerous things and make fun of them which 99.9% of the time is well-deserved.. Again, I would only recommend this if your brain wants a break.
“Nitro Circus” – I loved this show the first time I saw it. The best action sports and X Games athletes led by a legend in action sports Travis Pastrana, hone their skills in each episode. Are these people a little crazy for doing what they are doing? Maybe. But I put them in the same category as movie and television stuntmen. The sequel to “Nitro Circus”, “Nitro Circus Live”, which shows highlights of their live arena show, kicks off another season this Tuesday. If “Nitro Circus Live” ever comes to the Chicago area, I am so there. And I love the theme song!

A NEW CAST MEMBER ARRIVES ON ‘NCIS’
In last night’s episode, the character of NSA analyst Ellie Bishop, played by Emily Wickersham, made her entrance. It was just one episode, but I like the character and I think there could be some very entertaining story lines on the show down the road. We shall see.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .OH NO! I MUST HAVE HAD TOO MUCH ENERGY DRINK. I CAN ONLY WRITE IN ALL CAPS NOW!

