Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve always appreciated good writing in television and movies especially comedies. Memorable lines always stick out in my mind.
What I thought I would do in this episode of “As The D.J. Turns” is to give you a selection of some of my favorite TV and movie lines of all time and I would like to hear from you what your favorite lines are.
Most of these are from memory, but one I found two on a website and give credit to it.

FROM THE TV SHOW “MASH”—Frank Burns: I would have gotten into West Point, but my congressman was a Lithuanian.

FROM THE TV SHOW “MASH” – Frank Burns: I’m for individuality as long as everyone does it together.

FROM THE TV SHOW “MASH” – P.A. announcement at the 4077th: All officers are welcomed tonight to the grand opening of the new officer’s club. Also at 2200 hours, the enlisted men will view a v.d. prevention cartoon in the mess tent entitled, “Hansel and Regrettal.”

FROM THE MOVIE “NEVER SAY NEVER AGAIN” – Some background. Sean Connery returned for a final time in 1983 to play James Bond. In this scene, evil Fatima Blush wants to get closer to James and makes her way on water skis to where Bond is sitting at seaside bar and douses him in water when she stops. (courtesy of imdb.com)

Fatima Blush: Oh, how reckless of me. I made you all wet.
James Bond: Yes, but my martini is still dry.

FROM THE MOVIE “ON HER MAJESTY’S SECRET SERVICE” – George Lazenby replaced Sean Connery for a one-time stint as James Bond in 1969. In the opening scene, Bond fights off villians who are trying to hurt Tracy (Diana Rigg), who becomes the love of his life later in the movie. She drives off without him. He looks straight at the camera in a tongue-in-cheek reference to Connery.

“This never happened to the other fellow.”

FROM THE MOVIE “THE RIGHT STUFF” – I can’t go into much detail about this scene of the 1983 movie about Chuck Yeager and the first astronauts. This is a family blog. But people who have seen the movie will know what I’m taking about.

GORDO COOPER (played by Dennis Quaid): Will you shut up (John) Glenn because I’m trying to concentrate.

FROM THE MOVIE “A FEW GOOD MEN” — A good friend of mine and I have enjoyed over the years trying to recite how many memorable quotes we can remember from the movie. This is my favorite. (courtesy imdb.com)

Captain Ross: Airmen Cecil O’Malley and Anthony Rodriguez, what exactly were these guys going to testify to?
Kaffee: Unless I’m mistaken, they were both going to testify under oath that they had absolutely no recollection of anything.
Capt. Ross: Strong witnesses.
Kaffee: And handsome too, didn’t you think?

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

