Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I enjoyed a favorite childhood memory yesterday with the Super Bowl. I watched a blowout game that didn’t come close to the hype that preceded it.

I think we were getting spoiled by the quality of games of late. Before yesterday, it had been 10 years since a team won a Super Bowl by more than 20 points.

And another hyped tradition took place yesterday. As a nation, we watched the commercials with almost, if not, the same amount of interest as the game.

Like everyone else, I had my favorites. They were the ones that made me laugh. There have been other years where I laughed more frequently, but I thought there were a couple memorable messages yesterday.

I thought Tim Tebow in the T-Mobile commercial that had him show all the things in life one can do without an NFL contract added some needed humor to his persona.

Another funny one was for Chevy Silverado as the rancher tried to get the bull to his booty call.

There were nice, more serious commercials from Cheerios and Coca-Cola that reflected the changing face of America.

Now, I don’t buy products based solely on an ad. But if you want me to remember the name of your product, make me laugh.

I’m not in the market for a satellite television service currently and I have friends or family that are happy with DIRECTV, but how could you not remember the company name, thanks to their brilliant and consistently funny campaign, that stresses such things as if you don’t get rid of cable, you’ll end up with a grandson wearing a dog collar?

A LA CARTE ITEMS

The sports media and social media sharks descended up Peyton Manning in full force after Seattle dominated Denver yesterday. Eat your fiber people, one game does not a career make. Manning had a bad game yesterday. Denver had a bad game and Seattle was definitely the better team and deserved to win. But Manning’s legacy is intact. He will be in the Hall of Fame very quickly after his retirement.

***I was sorry to hear about the death of actor Philip Seymour Hoffman yesterday. Without a doubt, he was an actor of tremendous talents. However, having seen the long line of musicians or actors dying way too early because of drugs, the cynic in me believes he won’t be the last. I hope I’m wrong. One of my favorite performances of his was in the film “Nobody’s Fool” from 1994. It was a small role. He played an uptight police officer in the small upstate New York town that Paul Newman’s character Sully also lived. Hoffman’s character tried to coral Newman’s character, who everyone in the town liked and knew, without much success.

***Over the weekend, Maximilian Schell died at the age of 83. He was a legendary actor with a huge body of work. But one of his most memorable performances, which earned him a best actor Oscar, came in “Judgment at Nuremberg” from 1961. He played a lawyer defending one of the Nazi judges on trial. Most of the movie takes place in a courtroom and the script is heavy on monologues. But Schell and Richard Widmark, who played an American prosecutor, and Burt Lancaster, who played one of the Nazi defendants, turned those monologues into riveting moments and the give-and-take between Widmark and Schell in the courtroom is another example of when writing and acting come together perfectly.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

