Tags

, , , ,

I’m afraid that only readers in the Chicago area can take advantage of tonight’s (Wednesday, April 29) TV recommendation as it involves one of Chicago’s two PBS stations, WYCC-TV.
But I am sure these programs do appear on most other PBS stations. If you are planning a vacation, need ideas for a vacation or want a really cheap getaway for a couple of hours, WYCC has a lineup of travel programs every Wednesday from 8 to 10 p.m.
“Rick Steves’ Europe” starts things off at 8. His is the best travel show on television. The reaason I think it is the best is that he really shows what a city or country is like away from the tourist traps.
At 8:30, WYCC usually has a rotating program. Currently, the station is showing “Journeys in Africa.” Tonight the journey is to the South African nature reserve Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Park.
The final stop is “Globe Trekker” at 9. This week’s stop is the South Atlantic Region of the world including the Falkland Islands, Elephant Island and Antarctic Peninsula. It’s a consistently good program. However, and maybe it’s just me, but I think the episodes that deal with areas of less civilization tend to drag on. Actor Bradley Cooper used to be a host on the program.

FRIDAY NIGHT MEMORY
I was sorry to hear about the death of Suzanne Crough, who played Tracy on the early 1970s show “The Partridge Family.” She was just 52.
The show was a staple of my elementary school years. Most Friday nights, my parents would go bowling with their friends and get my sister Laurie and I a babysitter and then would leave us alone my big sister got a little older.
Laurie and I would get a night off from good nutrition and take our burgers and fries into the family room to watch “The Brady Bunch” and “The Partridge Family.” And you had better watch both programs because if you couldn’t discuss them at length Monday at school, your cool kid membership was cancelled. : )

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

