Tags

My intention for this blog is not to go over childhood memories on a regular basis, but there is something on Turner Classic Movies tomorrow morning (Saturday, May 2) that caught my eye.
The movie “Thunderbirds Are Go” from 1968 starts at 7 a.m. CDT. This was one of the movies produced after the TV series “Thunderbirds” had ended.
The TV series was a British effort and involved marionette puppetry and scale-model special effects that were considered advanced at the time.
The plot was simple. All the characters worked for an organization that rid the world of bad guys and rescued good people who were in peril. The pilots who did this operated special land, sea, air rescue vehicles named Thunderbird 1, Thunderbird 2 and so forth.
I never missed this as a kid and thought it was the greatest thing ever. As an adult, I enjoyed an episode a couple of years ago for the camp it’s become.
A good example of what the puppetry used on “Thunderbirds” is like can be seen in the movie “Team America: World Police” from South Park creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone.
If 7 a.m. is too early for you, I encourage you to get the TCM app for tablets. I have one on my iPad. Most of the movies TCM shows head there after being broadcast on the channel.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

