Tags

, , , , , ,

I flip through all the cable television channels I have access to and I know there are some I will never watch. It would be nice to pick and choose which channels we want to pay for, but that’s a blog posting for another day.
Sometime last year I discovered 2 movie channels that are high up on my channel lineup, Channel 195 and 199 to be precise, and I’ve really enjoyed their offerings.
They are available on cable and satellite systems elsewhere in the country. But if you live in Chicago and don’t have cable or satellite, you can still enjoy them.
This TV is broadcast over the air at Channel 9.3. It’s mostly movies, but a few TV shows are on the schedule. Most of the movies shown were made after 1960.
Movies! is broadcast over Channel 50.2 and offers a bigger portion of older movies like you would see on Turner Classic Movies.
Both channels show well-known fare. On Sunday, This TV showed the first James Bond movies — “Dr. No”, “From Russia With Love”, “Goldfinger” and “Thunderball.”
Each channel also offers movies that you know didn’t last long in the theaters when they were released. But there’s somebody out there that likes them.
An example of that is on the schedule for today (Tuesday, May 5). Movies! is showing “Air America” that was released in 1990. It was a comedy that starred Mel Gibson and Robert Downey Jr. and was the story of pilots who worked for the CIA’s covert airline in southeast Asia in the late 1960s and early 1970s.
I loved the movie. Unfortunately, not many else did. 🙂

ENCORE PRESENTATION
If you missed Ken Burns’ excellent documentary “The Roosevelts: An Intimate History”, it’s being shown again on PBS starting tonight (Tuesday, May 5) with Part 1 entitled “Get Action (1858-1901).” It runs from 8 to 10 p.m. CDT.

THANK YOU
Since I resumed “As The D.J. Turns”, I have had other bloggers follow my blog and have complemented me. I really appreciate it. Many thanks.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

