Tags

,

WARNING: WHILE I DON’T GO INTO GREAT DETAIL, I’M STILL ISSUING A SPOILER ALERT. . .

Last night (Sunday, May 17), “Mad Men” said farewell with its series finale on AMC.
The show received, over the course of its run, much praise from critics and fans along with a slew of awards.
To be honest, I was never a big fan. I saw the entire first season after the DVDs were given to me as a birthday gift. And in the seasons that followed, I would catch a couple of episodes at the beginning of the season and catch a couple at the end.
And if you savored every minute of the show, that’s great. I just found the show boring and redundant.
It was interesting to see how the 1960s era involved with each subsequent episode I watched and I enjoyed how episodes showed how advertising campaigns were formed and the plot twists that followed. But that got redundant after a while.
What also were stagnant were the characters. We got an early indication that Don, Peggy, Betty, Joan, Roger, Sally, Pete and the rest of the gang led unhappy or unfulfiling lives and had issues very early in the first season. And that unhappiness went on and on. I wasn’t wanting the Hallmark Channel treatment, just some hope every now and then.
But I did get it in the series finale. I won’t mention who, but most of the characters got happy endings and showed that life doesn’t suck all the time.
I guess I enjoyed the last half-hour of the series finale a little more than I would have because I watched the 10 p.m. news and life did suck for a lot of people yesterday.
I have written about realistic TV dramas and how much I enjoy them. But I wouldn’t want a 24/7 diet of them. More often than not, I like turning my TV off with a smile on my face because of something I watched.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

