Tags

Even when I was young and years before coming a writer, I followed the news and wanted to know what’s going on in the world.
That hasn’t changed. However, I grew up in a world with no internet or 24-hour news channels. There was the morning paper. WBBM-AM in Chicago was in full swing as a 24-hour news radio station. But I was in school during the day and only snuck in a radio for important baseball games. šŸ™‚
If you wanted to see if the world changed since breakfast, you turned on the national news at 5:30 p.m.
There was nothing wrong with that. But I wouldn’t want to go back though to that world. I like being able to watching breaking news immediately. Growing up, it would take a story of epic proportions for CBS, ABC and NBC to hit the pause button on their soap operas and game shows. I like being able to listen to any radio station in the world on my iPad or to any hockey game I want.
But sometimes I need to push away from the media and internet table. The problem with 24-hour news channels, aside from being too political one side or the other, is that they have to feed what has been called the 24/7 beast. When there’s no breaking news, stories get repeated so much they develop scratches like on a DVD. Or stories that shouldn’t be stories get attention.
It’s important to know that not every place on this earth is good and may have problems. But I only need to be told once.
At the end of this day, I will know what went on in the world. I will be doing something else when the 5:30 p.m. news rolls around. And when the 10 p.m. news rolls around with the weird combination of death and murder in Chicago and the happy talk going into the weather and sports segments, I will be watching “Carol Burnett and Friends” on Me-TV.
And ending my day with laughs. The latest news will come soon enough.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

