Tags

, , ,

The person I can thank for starting my interest in classical music is American composer Aaron Copland.
One of his most favorite works, “Appalachian Spring”, was on a classical music radio station yesterday that I had on. Copland was born and lived in the 20th century and most famous classical composers like Beethoven, Bach and Mozart were obviously much, much older. But if you want to hear Copland on the radio, you need a classical music station.
Most people know Copland from works like “Appalachian Spring”, “Billy the Kid”, “Rodeo” or “Fanfare for the Common Man”. But his list of works seems endless.
I have written little or nothing about why certain music appeals to me or why I think it’s good, so here goes.
When I listen to something from Copeland I feel like the music puts me right into a time of when the United States was young and still finding its way. I believe his music works in a way that allows the listener to feel like a witness in an old west town, the dirt in the street covering your boots and “Billy the Kid” riding into town.
You don’t have a history textbook in front of you? Don’t worry, just listen to Aaron Copland’s music.
It’s a sound that’s distinctly American and a reflection of our history and how we grew as a nation.
I hope that makes some sense. If you haven’t heard any of Copland’s works, I encourage to buy a CD or a download. Classical music is usually reasonably priced.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

