Tags

, , , , , ,

I have not seen a performance yet of the opera “Faust”, Charles Gounod’s French masterpiece about a man, who simply put, makes a pact with the Devil and pays for it eventually. I certainly want to add it to my list of operas seen.
Several years ago, I found a 3-CD set in the bargain section of a Border’s of a 2008 reissue by Warner Classics of a 1986 recording that features Placido Domingo in the lead role.
It’s an amazing recording that brings forth the lush vocals and rousing chorus work that is “Faust” and I became a fan of the work quickly.
A couple of days ago I heard a 1991 Metropolitan Opera performance of “Faust” on the Met’s channel on Sirius XM radio and I have yet to hear a version that’s anywhere close to subpar.
If you haven’t tried opera before and just want a sample first, listening to “Faust” is a good start.

A VOICE SILENCED
I was sorry to hear about the passing of Margaret Juntwait this week at age 58 due to cancer. She had been host of the Met’s live broadcasts since 2004. The live Saturday afternoon broadcasts, heard from December to May in Chicago on WFMT-FM 98.7, have been a listening staple for me once the college football regular season ends. I also enjoyed her work hosting the live Met broadcasts during the week on the Met’s Sirius XM channel and broadcasts of performances from the Met’s enormous archive. She added a lot to the broadcasts and to my enjoyment of opera.

THANK YOU AGAIN
I have been able to look a some of the other blogs on WordPress and intend to look at more once I have a little more time. Thank you again for following me and liking what I have done. It’s very much appreciated.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

