Tags

, ,

I understand that box office receipts of movies would be of interest to those who read trade publications such as Variety and The Hollywood Reporter.
But I will never understand why my local newspaper or local 10 o’clock news mentions them. Who cares how much a movie made over the weekend? Did you go to a particular movie? Did you enjoy yourself? That’s all that matters.
I have heard many conversations where a person has said they went to a movie and then they immediately mention how much it has made. The fact whether they had a good time either comes second or not at all.

*** Many stories have been written on whether too many movies are made. At first, I did not agree with that. But my mind is changing. Granted, new movies are released throughout the year, but a major portion of films are released during the summer and around the Thanksgiving/Christmas holiday season. And there lies the problem and it happens primarily during the two biggest release periods of the year — too many movies are released all at once. The reality is most people don’t have the time nor want to or can make the financial investment to see every movie. And understandably, they are leery of some movies and might want to wait and watch it on their TV or just don’t want to see the movie, period. And the current system is hard on the movies themselves. If a film doesn’t have a big ticket-selling opening weekend, it’s probably not going to make the big money and be gone soon. Movies no longer have the luxury after being in a theater for more than a week and being allowed to catch on. Another benefit of making fewer movies would be an increase in quality. I would hope that would be the case.

*** This is completely unscientific, but I wonder about the state of movie theaters. Last Saturday, and the last few times I’ve been in the theater this year, I’ve felt like I was in a ghost town. I prefer going to movies on Saturday afternoons and each time I went the weather was fine. I’ve gone to one particular theater the last 17, 18 years and if this were 10 years ago, Saturday afternoons at the theater would have been crowded. But again, my thoughts are totally unscientific.

*** It wouldn’t make my top 10 of all-time favorite movies, but if I had a top 20 one, it certainly would be on it. The 1958 classic “Auntie Mame” is on Turner Classic Movies starting at 7 p.m. CDT tonight (June 30). A regular staple of my film viewing growing up, it is the story of Mame (Rosalind Russell), an eccentric woman living in 1920s New York City, who suddenly finds herself raising her nephew after his father dies. Towards the end of the movie, her nephew Patrick has graduated from college. His life is all planned out for him per his late father’s instructions. Mame’s monologue stopping that from happening should have clinched Russell a much-deserved Oscar. It didn’t. The best actress award went to Susan Hayward for “I want to Live!” Hayward’s performance based on the real-life story of a woman executed in California during the 1950s was outstanding. But the script made the woman seem like St. Joan of Arc and that simply wasn’t the case. That’s why I have a real problem with the movie.

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

