Tags

, , , ,

I have been watching Marx Brothers movies since I was a kid and saw “Duck Soup” last night (Sunday, July 5) for the first time in many years.
I consider “A Night at the Opera” to be the Marx Brothers’ best-ever, but “Duck Soup” is certainly on its heels.
“Duck Soup”, which was released in 1933, was Groucho, Chico, Harpo and Zeppo’s attempt at political satire as fascism began to come to life in certain parts of the world.
At the time, the movie was not well-received by audiences and it was the last movie the Marx Brothers did for Paramount which had produced their first five movies. The brothers then moved on to Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer where they enjoyed their greatest success in “A Night at the Opera.”
But as time as gone on, “Duck Soup” has earned classic status and provided a lot of laughs.
In “Duck Soup”, Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho Marx) becomes president of the fictional country of Freedonia and makes a promise in song of what he’ll do in office when he’s introduced at a party in his honor. This particular excerpt from those lyrics is from imdb.com and makes me laugh hard each time.
“If any form of pleasure is exhibited, report to me and it will be prohibited. I’ll put my foot down, so shall it be. . .this is the land of the free! The last man nearly ruined this place he didh’t know what to do with it. If you think this country’s bad off now, just wait till I get through it!”

UNTIL NEXT TIME . . .

