Tags

, , , , , ,

Ted Slowik and I have been friends for over 15 years. We first met when we were colleagues at the Naperville Sun newspaper in Illinois.
I knew he was a singer. But I had never heard any of his music until his debut CD “Comfort Zone” which was released in 2013.
I was pretty much impressed about halfway through the first song “Hinsdale.” And the rest of the five songs on the CD were equally impressive.
Slowik, who wrote all the songs on “Comfort Zone”, is an outstanding storyteller. And I have always been a big fan of music that tells a tale.
He is now busy at work on his new CD “Dispatches from the Heartland” which is set for release in 2016. Currently, Slowik is raising money to fund the recording and producing of “Dispatches from the Heartland.”
If you would like to donate, all the details are at tedslowikmusic.com along with how to obtain “Comfort Zone” and how to see videos of some of Slowik’s performances.

ACTION!
I have said it before on this blog that I am a big fan of “Nitro Circus.” X Games legend Travis Pastrana and his crew of some of the world’s best action sports athletes push the envelope as far as it can go on motorcycles, bicycles, skydiving, etc.
“Nitro Circus” has resulted in two MTV shows, a feature-length movie and a regular tour that goes around the world.
Another “Nitro Circus” movie came out recently and it is written, directed and produced by Pastrana. My only question was how could there have been a script to this movie?
All it is Pastrana and the “Nitro Circus” trying to challenge themselves more in the way of harder stunts. This is not a put-down. I have enjoyed every minute of the TV shows and their first movie and it was exciting watching this and I guarantee you that boredom will be far away.
Some say that what Pastrana and those associated with “Nitro Circus” is reckless or dangerous. And that may be the case. I would never have the courage to do what they do.
But I do respect them for the dedication to their sports and to keep coming back to those sports even if things don’t always go well.
The just over 1-hour movie is available by download only at Amazon, iTunes, Google Play and Xbox.

RATING — *** (3 stars)

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

