Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I hope you all had a great holiday and that 2016 is very good to you.
Before I went to join my family for the holidays, I was giving my midterm grades for the TV shows I watched regularly.
I didn’t get to this one before I left, but it returns for 2016 tomorrow night (Tuesday, Jan. 5) at 8 p.m. CST in a new time slot on FOX.
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” is currently in its third season and from the pilot episode on it has been consistently funny.
“Saturday Night Live” alumnus Andy Samberg plays NYPD Det. Jake Peralta assigned to the obviously fictional 99th Precinct in Brooklyn. He’s a talented and successful detective, but hasn’t quite grown up yet.
I think Samberg is a talented comedian, but he succeeds in this role especially because his talent is given structure. He’s not allowed to go to excess.
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” has one of the best casts of any TV comedy. Joining Peralta is the annoyingly perky Det. Amy Santiago (Melissa Fumero); the don’t ever get her mad Det. Rosa Diaz (Stephanie Beatriz); the well-meaning yet twitchy Sgt. Terry Jeffords (Terry Crews); the ever so weird administrative assistant Gina Linetti (Chelsea Peretti) and food critic wannabe Det. Charles Boyle (Joe Lo Truglio).
Special mention goes out to precinct commander Capt. Ray Holt (Andre Braugher). Braugher deserves an Emmy because it takes real talent to make a character that is so funny yet so dead serious. I have loved the confrontations Holt has had with Deputy Police Chief Madeleine Wuntch (Kyra Sedgwick). It’s an excellent comedic turn for Sedgwick, formally of “The Closer”, and Braugher, who earned praise for his work on “Homicide: Life on the Street”, both very serious roles.
With “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”, you have the right to laugh a lot.

MIDTERM GRADE — A

UNTIL NEXT TIME. . .

